General Rules of Judo

Spread the love

Judo is a modern martial art, combat and Olympic sport created in Japan in 1882 by Jigoro Kano. It is derived from jujutsu, a traditional Japanese martial art that involves techniques for fighting unarmed or with weapons. Kano modified the techniques of jujutsu to create a martial art that emphasizes safety, efficiency, and self-improvement. He also incorporated ideas from other martial arts, such as karate, to create a well-rounded system of training for the mind and body.

Judo became an Olympic sport in 1964, and it is now practiced in more than 200 countries around the world. It is known for its throws and joint locks, which are used to bring an opponent to the ground and control them. Judo also includes ground work, or ne-waza, which involves techniques for pinning an opponent, escaping from holds, and submitting an opponent with chokeholds and joint locks.

Judo is more than just a martial art or sport, however. It is also a way of life that promotes respect, discipline, and self-improvement. The ultimate goal of judo is to develop oneself physically, mentally, and morally, and to use the principles of judo to contribute to society.

Judo point system

In Judo, points are awarded based on the techniques and actions performed during a match. Here is a summary of the point system in Judo:

1. Ippon: The highest score in Judo, awarded for a perfect throw, a pin of 20 seconds, or a submission hold. Winning by ippon results in an immediate victory.

2. Waza-ari: Half a point, awarded for a throw that is not quite perfect enough for an ippon, or for a pin of between 10-19 seconds.

Also Read  General Rules of Freestyle Wrestling

3. Yuko: A lesser score, awarded for a throw that is not as impactful as a waza-ari, or for a pin of between 5-9 seconds.

4. Koka: The lowest score, awarded for minor techniques or actions that do not meet the criteria for higher scores.

In addition to these scores, penalties can also be given for various infractions, resulting in points being awarded to the opponent.

It’s important to note that Judo matches can also be won by accumulating penalties against the opponent, or by achieving a higher score if the match goes the full duration without an ippon or other decisive outcome.

Scoring in Judo

In judo, a match is won by either scoring an ippon (full point) or by having the highest score at the end of match. An ippon is awarded for a perfect throw that results in the opponent being thrown on their back with force, or for holding the opponent down for 25 seconds.

If no Ippon is scored, the winner is determined by the highest score at the end of the match.

Scores are awarded for throws that are almost fully completed, as well as for various forms of control on the ground. The specific techniques that are used to score vary depending on the level and style of competition. Do you have any specific questions about scoring in judo?

Penalties in Judo

In Judo, penalties are called “Shido” and are given by the referee to a contestant for various infractions. There are four types of Shido:

  1. Keikoku: a light penalty given for a minor infraction, such as stalling or incorrect posture.
  2. Chui: a stronger penalty given for a more serious infraction, such as illegal gripping or attempting to injure an opponent.
  3. Hansoku-make: a severe penalty given for a very serious infraction, such as hitting or biting an opponent. This penalty results in an automatic loss for the contestant who receives it.
  4. Disqualification: a contestant may be disqualified for repeated infractions or for behavior that is deemed unsportsmanlike or dangerous.
Also Read  General Rules of Playing Vovinam

In a match, a contestant who receives two Keikoku penalties is considered to have received a Chui. A contestant who receives three penalties of any type is disqualified.

10 General Rules of Judo

  1. The goal of judo is to throw or takedown an opponent to the ground, immobilize or subdue them with a pin, or force them to submit with a joint lock or choke.
  2. Judo practitioners, or judoka, are expected to have respect for their opponents and display good sportsmanship at all times.
  3. Judo matches are contested on a mat called a tatami, and are divided into weight classes.
  4. The uniform worn in judo is called a judogi, and consists of a jacket, pants, and belt. The belt represents the student’s rank and progress in the art.
  5. In judo, throws are divided into two categories: standing throws and sacrifice throws. Standing throws involve throwing the opponent to the ground from a standing position, while sacrifice throws involve the judoka taking a fall themselves in order to throw the opponent.
  6. Choking techniques, or shime-waza, and joint locks, or kansetsu-waza, are allowed in judo, but striking techniques are not.
  7. Points are scored in judo through successful throws, pins, and submissions. The match is won by the judoka who scores the most points, or if one judoka achieves an ippon, a full point, which ends the match immediately.
  8. If the match ends in a tie, the judoka with the highest number of penalties is declared the loser.
  9. The judoka who initiates an attack is called the tori, while the judoka who is being attacked is called the uke.
  10. Judo training typically includes both physical conditioning and technical drills, as well as free-style sparring known as randori.
Also Read  General Rules of Sambo Martial Art

In general, judo is a martial art that originated in Japan and emphasizes throws, joint locks, and chokeholds. There are specific rules that are followed in judo competitions, including rules for scoring points, disqualification, and conduct.

The objective of judo is to throw or take down an opponent, and to immobilize or subdue them with a pin, submission hold, or choke. Safety is also an important consideration in judo, and there are rules in place to ensure the well-being of the competitors. Is there something specific you would like to know about the rules of judo?

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *